Mormon Monday: On General Conference, October 2014 Edition

We were once again blessed by a wonderful General Conference of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. It was a great weekend full of uplifting messages and the spirit of the Lord. We were taught and reminded of doctrines of the Gospel of Christ that we should all be living, ways in which we can  be happier in our families and draw closer to God. I am always grateful for this opportunity to immerse oneself in the Gospel, spending a whole weekend listening to the General Authorities of the Church teach with power and the Spirit. It is a great way to fortify oneself and one’s family against having to venture out into the world. It provides the needed strength and conviction to maintain a testimony of the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

We watched most of the sessions at home with my laptop plugged into the TV so we could watch, streaming from gc.lds.org. This means I could not use my laptop to type up notes as I was listening, but I still had my phone and was following #ldsconf and #twitterstake on Twitter. I know there are some who see it as distracting or even disrespectful to be on Twitter constantly during General Conference, but for me it is one of the best ways of taking notes. I do not write very quickly, or I should say, when I write quickly it is not very legible. I type somewhat quicker than I write, but I did not have my laptop available to type up notes. Instead, I find it is much easier to read a tweet quickly and click Retweet or Favorite, and then go back in the next couple of days and look at all of the tweets that I have retweeted. There are so many others out there who can type quickly and can almost transcribe the Conference talks, and I just have to favorite or retweet what they’ve already written. And then I copy all of my tweets and retweets into a document and go over them again in the coming days and weeks as my documentation of what impressed me from General Conference.

I have not yet had a chance to do that with the tweets from this weekend, but I did want to share a few thoughts and impressions, things I heard and felt and have resolved to change in my life because of what was said during General Conference.

I tweeted:

OK, I’ve got my list of things I want to change, things I need to do better because of #LDSConf. What’s yours? Pray, read, FHE, be kinder.

And that is where I will start. I heard several messages about prayer and about returning to the scriptures, and I know I need to do better with my personal and family prayers. I need to say them more often and make them more personal and meaningful. It truly is amazing that we have a God who prefers to be called Father, and asks us to talk to him in prayer and promises to listen and answer. I need to make better use of that.

And I need to hold more regular Family Home Evenings. It is hard with a wildly rambunctious 3 year-old. He hardly wants to sit still or listen to anything. But, we have been having some discipline issues lately – he is refusing to listen and trying to push boundaries to see just what he can get away with, being deliberately disobedient just to see what will happen. We are not happy as parents with some of his choices, and need to help him see the consequences of his actions and how he can make better decisions. Holding a regular Family Home Evening will help us teach him those principles. I will start tomorrow. I also tweeted:

OK, I just added a recurring event to my phone’s calendar: FHE every Monday night. With a reminder to go off before hand

That will make sure we hold it on time and I have started a Google Doc with ideas and resources for lessons that I think my son will enjoy and benefit from. We are going to start with a modified first lesson from the Family Home Evening Resource Book, available as part of the Gospel Library app on my phone, about the purpose of FHE. I am going to ask my son what he wants out of FHE, what he thinks he should learn, what he wants to do. And then we will craft future lessons to meet his needs and wants. I hope it works. I will probably write about our efforts in this as time goes on.

And I noticed a distinct emphasis on being kinder to all people, to everyone, no matter who they are or where they come from or what their current situation in life is. This is certainly timely and timeless counsel, and I have been too easily losing my temper with my family lately as I have been handling the stresses of life poorly. I am praying and hoping that doing all of this will help me curb my anger and be nicer to my family as I remember who I am as a son of God and as a Priesthood holder. Regular prayer and scripture study and Family Home Evenings will bring the spirit into our home and into our lives and will help me ‘put off the natural man’ and become ‘submissive, meek, humble, patient, full of love’.

There are other goals I would like to set for myself as well, not all spiritual. For example, I am feeling that I am not as healthy as I should be. I should document better the things I eat in order to help me eat better and regulate the colon issues that I suffer from. I should also exercise more. Well, when I say ‘more’ that kind of indicates that I do any type of exercise currently, which is not true. I need to start exercising and taking better care of my body. I want to be in shape, I want to be in a position to be able to work when called upon. I want the strength and stamina and ability to assist others who are in need.

I would love to hear from you. Leave a comment. What impressed you from General Conference?  What goals have you set for yourself because of what you heard and felt?  What will change in your life because of the Spirit of the Lord?

Leave a Reply

