Mormon Monday: On Knowing God

I have recently been looking at my Mormon.org profile (which you can look at here, if you want) and there are a lot of different questions that you can choose from to answer.  I think that I want to take several of these questions and answer them for my Mormon.org profile, and then expand on these answers for my Mormon Monday posts.

The first question that I decided to answer was, What are some things that tell you there is a God?

Here is the Church’s official response to that question,

God has provided many evidences of His existence. One of these is the testimony of His creations: “The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork” (Psalms 19:1). Have you ever looked in awe at the night sky with its billions of stars? Or studied the intricate details of a leaf or flower? Or marveled at the miracle of a tiny new baby? These beautiful and complex creations didn’t come about by chance. They are the creations of God, your Heavenly Father. They can remind you of His existence and of His love for His children. An ancient prophet declared: “All things denote there is a God; yea, even the earth… and its motion, yea, and also all the planets which move in their regular form do witness that there is a Supreme Creator” (Book of Mormon, Alma 30:44).

And here is my response:

I know that there is a God in Heaven who has created all things and who is our Eternal Father.  A prophet in the Book of Mormon taught “All things denote there is a God; yea, even the earth… and its motion, yea, and also all the planets which move in their regular form do witness that there is a Supreme Creator” (Book of Mormon, Alma 30:44).  I agree with that, of course, but I will add that if one wants to believe in God, then all things can and will act as proof and evidence of his existence, but if one does not wish to believe, then he will usually be able to find another explanation.  I have spoken with a lot of people and I find that to be the determining factor:  a desire to believe.  If one is willing to allow the Holy Spirit into one’s life so that he can testify of the truthfulness of God’s existence, then one will see evidence of God everywhere.  But, if he is determined not to believe in God, then he will be able to come up with some other explanation for the wonders that prove God’s existence.

For me, I know that there is a God because I have met him.  Not in a physical sense, face to face, but in a spiritual way.  I have read the scriptures written by holy prophets inspired by God, and I have spent hours in prayer and pondering and have felt the Spirit of God testifying to me that he is there and that he loves me.  I truly believe that every person needs to develop their own personal relationship with God, and that if we approach him, he will make himself known to us.  Of all of the magnificent titles that rightly apply to him, Creator, God, Supreme Being, Omnipotent, Omniscient, etc;  the name that he has chosen to be called by is Father.  He is our Father, the father of our spirits, and he wants to be our Father, loving us and supporting us throughout our lives.  This teaches us a great deal about the nature of God, but teaches us even more about the importance of the role of fathers in our lives and it teaches me how I must act as a father to my own son.

I am very thankful for experiences I have had through the Holy Spirit that have confirmed principles learned while reading in the scriptures.  I am thankful for the Spirit guiding my thoughts and words as I have prayed.  And I am thankful for a God who chooses to be my Father and to take a personal interest in my life and has chosen to make himself known to me.  He has said, “Draw near unto me and I will draw near unto you; seek me diligently and ye shall find me; ask, and ye shall receive; knock, and it shall be opened unto you” (Doctrine and Covenants 88:63).

I firmly believe that there is only one way that individuals can come to know that there is a God: and that is to ask him.  He has stated time and time again throughout the scriptures that if ye will ask, ye shall receive.  You can ponder, you can read the words of prophets, you can look for proofs and evidences in the natural world, but for all of these there can always be someone who has another explanation, dismissing that as proof that there is a God.  The only proof of God’s existence that cannot be refuted is to hear his voice in your heart, to feel his presence in your life, to know him.  And he will make himself known if we come unto him and ask him.

Leave a Reply

