Mormon Monday: General Conference Recap, October 2012 Edition

It was another wonderful weekend where millions of Mormons were once again treated to the opportunity of listening to the Prophet and other General Authorities of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.  It is great to come and listen and be uplifted by the spirit of the Lord.  This was the first time in a few years where I had to work on Saturday and was not able to watch those sessions of conference.  But, since I work in a technical support industry and work at a computer, I was able to follow #ldsconf on Twitter.   I was not able to hear every word or most of the talks, but I was able to retweet quite a few great messages.  I’ll need to sit down over the next few days and sort those retweets out as I read the text of the addresses, which should be available soon on LDS.org.

I was also very upset as I followed #ldsconf and #twitterstake and saw that there were a few individuals who were not only tweeting against the Church, they were being perniciously antagonistic.  I don’t know why it got to me so much this time, usually I can ignore those idiots, but the things they were tweeting were just so … stupidly annoying.  I took almost everything in me not to respond, but I knew that a response would just inflame them more and lead to a huge argument over Twitter and wouldn’t resolve anything.  It’s like that saying, Don’t wrestle with a pig, you both just get muddy and the pig enjoys it.  I was really saddened to read some their tweets, though, to see these guys filled with so much anger and bitterness, and yet, for people who seem to hate the Church so much, they were watching every minute of General Conference and responding directly to each talk.  I mean, honestly, if you don’t like the Church and don’t like what the Church teaches, then why would you spend your whole weekend listening to General Conference, just to complain about it.  It just doesn’t make any sense to me.  If you don’t want to believe what the Church teaches, that’s just fine, but why do you get so angry that I want to believe it?

Aside from that, it was great to read the tweets and listen to Sunday’s sessions.  There were great messages about faith and repentance and how we need to stand up and do better and be better and draw closer to our Father in Heaven.  It was interesting that two different Apostles spoke about Peter and the Lord’s question to him “Do you love me?”  That is quite a deep question that we need to ask ourselves regularly.  Do we love Jesus Christ?  Do we really?  Then what needs to change in our lives to show that we love Him?  How should we be different because we have been called by Him to feed His sheep?  That is what General Conference is all about, should be all about – Reminding us of things that we know are true, but that may not have changed us as dramatically as they should have.  That was another major repeated point – We need to change and be changed by our belief in Jesus Christ.  The Gospel of Jesus Christ has the power to convert and change men’s hearts and make them better, holier, more like God.  God has a plan and a desire for us, but He will not force us to be good.  He invites and incites, he pleads and begs, he demands that we change our carnal natures and become spiritual.  He knows our potential and He weeps when he sees that we fall short.

It has been another wonderful weekend and has provided us with much to ponder and apply into our lives over the next six months.  I loved the spirit of the Lord that was present in my home as we invited His appointed spokesmen to share with us His words.  I will strive to be a better man, a better husband, a better father and a better priesthood holder.  I will put away the childish things, I will put away the sinful things, I will ‘deny myself of all ungodliness’, removing those things from my life and conduct that are not what the Lord would want.  I do love the Lord, and I will try to feed his sheep and be the disciple that he asks me to be.  What were your thoughts?  What were your impressions?  Which messages stood out to you, and which will become the focus of your next several Family Home Evenings?

Leave a Reply

