On Turning 27 and what comes after

Yesterday was my birthday.  I turned 27.  It’s not that big of a deal really, but each birthday is special.  It was fun to have a Sunday, a day off work, to spend my birthday with family.

I don’t really feel any different, though.  I am a little older, a little more responsible, I guess, but it doesn’t feel that way.  I have been working at my job full-time for almost six months, my son is almost 2 years old, my wife and I have our four year anniversary later this month.  All of the major adult milestones have already been hit.  Turning 27 doesn’t really change things much.  But, it still is nice getting older, knowing that life keeps going, that there is more to come, more to discover.

The question remains, though, what happens now?  Where do I go from here?  What’s the plan?

I am still hoping to do graduate work at Ohio State University.  I was not accepted when I applied last year, but I am applying again this year.  The thing is, I’m still not quite sure which program I want to do.  I am currently torn between two options, and really, it is because I am torn between two career paths.  Related careers, but ultimately different.  It comes down to one question:  Do I want to teach German at the High School level or the University level?   So do I do my Master’s degree in German, eventually getting my Ph.D. and teaching at whichever university will have me?  Or do I do a Master’s in Education, specifically in Teaching Foreign Language, and then find a high school where I can teach?

Why I want to teach High School:  I want to help young students realize that learning foreign language is not only possible, but fun and exciting.  Teaching in a high school would also allow me the opportunity to cross discipline, I could teach an English class or two, and even get involved with high school drama.

Why I want to teach College:  To be honest, college students taking a German class probably have a little more desire to be in class than a high school student, who may just be taking the class because it is required for graduation.  Also, as a college professor I would be expected to publish, I would be able to continue my research into German Linguistics.  And, I love the whole university atmosphere.

To apply for the German Master’s program, I will need to rework and rewrite my capstone paper to make it better for submission.  To apply for the Master’s of Education program, they are looking for experience working with adolescents, which I don’t really have.

I don’t know.  I have a few months before applications are due, a few months to figure things out.  I hope that I will be able to make the correct

Leave a Reply

