Mormon Monday: October 2011 General Conference

This has been another wonderful weekend, with a General Conference of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.  Twice a year, members gather all around the world to listen to Prophets, Apostles, and other Church leaders speak the word of the Lord.

Once again, I spent the weekend watching Conference on TV while simultaneously on my laptop following #ldsconf on Twitter.  I have really enjoyed utilizing this amazing social tool the last couple of Conferences, being able to not only share my testimony and feelings and thoughts about Conference with those who follow me, but also seeing and sharing in the testimonies shared by others.

I am reminded of the story that President Monson shared Saturday night at Priesthood session about the time he was in Navy boot camp during World War II.  The officer told them all that they had to go to Church on Sunday, he then announced that the Catholics would meet in one place, the Jews in another, and the Protestants in another.  President Monson thought, “You’re not a Catholic, you’re not a Jew, and you’re not a Protestant.  Stand still.”  He was scared, thinking he would be the only one, but relief came over him when the officer asked, “What do you guys call yourselves?” and the answer came, almost in unison, “Mormons!”.  President Monson had been willing to stand alone for his faith and what he believed to be true, but found that he did not need to stand alone after all.   I feel the same way on Twitter.  I share what I believe to be true, and I’ve been ridiculed and antagonized for it, but I find that as I tweet about my faith, there are many who are tweeting the exact same things.  I have made many friends during Conference weekend (and I gained 8 new followers!) and I have been honored to see my tweets be retweeted and responded to.  We are not alone.

Here are a few of my favorite tweets from October 2011 General Conference of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

dteeps David Tertipes

 “How do you personally use scriptures?” Elder Scott #ldsconf A question to ponder in and of itself.

 

cabogirao natehulse

Obvious from Elder Scott’s talks that his wife has had a tremendous impact on his testimony. I feel the same about mine… #ldsconf

 

dteeps David Tertipes

 Temples are so important because inside we make sacred covenants with our God and families are sealed for eternity.#mormon #ldsconf

 

#ldsconf rendering of the 2nd Provo temple available: bit.ly/qq3VF4, Read about all temples announced bit.ly/r1EvjO

 

NatHarward Nat Harward 

“You need not wait until you reach an arbitrary age until you start…” …doing good. True counsel for SO many scenarios. #ldsconf #DAB

 

LDStweets LDS Mormon

Repentance means abandoning sin and committing to obedience. #ldsconf

RealDSean Sean W. 
Callister: “Have you read the Book of Mormon? I have read every page, and I can bear witness that it is true.” #LDSConf

ByCommonConsent By Common Consent

Elder Ballard: The name the Savior has given to His Church tells us exactly who we are and what we believe #ldsconf #lds #mormon

dteeps David Tertipes 

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ, and I believe in the Book of Mormon. #ldsconf

ctr_tv CTR TV

God be with you till we tweet again!!! #LDSConf #twitterstake

 

Leave a comment