In honor of Irishness

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day and all things Irish, I decided to do some Irish cooking.  I got me a corned beef brisket and cooked it up with some potatoes.  I also made some Irish soda bread.  If I only had a Guinness, it would be a complete Irish meal!

I’m all for new foods, especially new fun ethnic foods, but my experience with this Irish meal was not great.   The brisket had more fat on it than meat, I swear, I’ve never had a chunk of meat this bad in my life.  It did taste good, around all of the fat.

The bread was good, too, but it had a hard crust and was pretty dense.  It had a great flavor, though, and was pretty good.  Potatoes, well, it’s kinda hard to go wrong with boiled potatoes.

It was a fun experiment in Irish cooking, and maybe if I had bought a better cut of meat, or had a different recipe it might have turned out better.  Or,  maybe this explains why the Irish drink so much.  They need something to wash down all that.  I don’t know.  I just know that St. Patrick’s Day is fun, and a great excuse to cook some new foods.   I think I’ll take up some hurling.

And now, just for fun, here’s Veggie Tales’s take on St. Patrick:

3 thoughts on “In honor of Irishness

    1. dteeps

      Yeah, it wasn’t the greatest meal I’ve cooked. And maybe that’s what makes it Irish? I can see why corned beef brisket is a traditional Irish meal, if it is such a low quality meat, that may have been all those poor Irish farmers could afford.
      Oh well, Erin go bragh and all that.

Leave a Reply

