Finding Balance in a Digital World

I have been feeling a little overwhelmed lately, with work and school and my newborn son and all of the responsibilities that I have.  Some of these responsibilities require the use of my computer and the internet, for homework and for other reasons, such as this blog.

I am writing a research blog for my Shakespeare class, that has been keeping me busy, just reading the plays and thinking about them, researching them and writing what I have found.  That takes a lot of time and effort.

I am working on my capstone paper for my German Linguistics program, in preparation for graduating this coming December.  I have the thesis chosen, I know what I want to research and write about, and I have found a lot of sources that pertain to what I’m studying — but that’s exactly the problem: I have so many sources that I have found, because the title or the abstract looked interesting and related, but I haven’t read any of these articles.  I am supposed to be writing 15 minutes a day toward my capstone paper (just writing everyday to get things written, I’ll probably throw away or edit most of it, but writing everyday is important.  This is kinda like NaNoWriMo for my academic writing.)  So, I’m supposed to be writing everyday, but I don’t want to because I don’t feel like I have anything to write, because I haven’t actually done the research yet.

I am also in a Family History class, and that involves a lot of online research and time.  It is fun, and I love doing this research for my family.  Tiffany and I made an amazing breakthrough last night, finding some family trees that we were able to connect ourselves to going back to the 1300s!  This is fun.

All of this is fun, I enjoy this, or I wouldn’t be studying these subjects and taking these classes.  But, with all of this I am thinking that I need to take time and Turn Off the Machine.  I need to set the computer aside and READ. I want to read more, but I find myself on my stupid computer most of my free time.  I need to make time to read my scholarly articles in a quiet place where I can study them in depth (some of these are in German and that is a lot more difficult to read!)

So here it is — I am not signing off completely, but I am trying to cut back on my internet usage and find time for my other pursuits and interests.

Leave a Reply

