Thanksgiving and a late Writing Wednesday update

Today is Thanksgiving. If you want to know just a few of the things I am thankful for this year, you can read my post from Monday.  To that list I will add:

I am thankful that my son slept well last night, so that his mother and I could sleep well.  We really couldn’t have planned this baby any better.  He came on Saturday, so we were in the hospital until Tuesday.  This being the week before Thanksgiving, most of classes were okay that I took a few days off (that and I’m going to BYU, they are nice and generous to those of us having babies!).  I only had to work a few hours yesterday, and I have today and tomorrow off, to be at home with my family.  Tiffany’s mother comes into town tomorrow and stays a week, then my mother comes in and can stay two weeks, after which it’s Christmas.  I only have a couple weeks of school left before finals, so for most of December I will just be working, and be able to spend a lot of time at home with my wife and son.

This is really turning out nicely.  We’ve had so many friends who have offered to bring food over so that we haven’t had to worry about that.  We’ve even had several offers for Thanksgiving dinner, which we’ve had to politely decline, since I’ve been looking forward to this all year!  I love cooking, and Thanksgiving is like my Superbowl Sunday! We did acquiesce and allow somebody to bring a pie over today because they really wanted to bring something to help out.  We are just overwhelmed with the love and the friendship we have felt.

I am also thankful that November is coming to an end, and my NaNoWriMo word count is 41,315.  Just 8685 words left, which I can easily get done in a week!  I guess I need to start going at it on my climax and conclusion.  I have been sort of having my characters wander around the last week, worried that I would reach the end of the novel and still have 10,000 words to go.  Now that I’m on the homestretch, I feel comfortable starting the end, which I have been planning all month.  This has been a wonderful experience, writing a novel in a month.  Mostly it has proved to me that it is possible to write, even when so many other things are going on.  If there is a deadline and a daily goal staring me in the face, I can find the time to write, despite school, work, and even having a baby!

I am thankful that I have been able to do this.  I am thankful for the friends and the support they have been, with baby and with novel.  I am thankful for this weekend to just stay home and cook and enjoy good food.  Happy Thanksgiving, everybody.  I hope you have something amazing to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

