Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Baby Boy Mini Baby Shower Cupcakes
I kinda want some cupcakes now. Image by clevercupcakes via Flickr

“..creeps in this petty pace from day to day.”   Well, this post really has nothing to do with Shakespeare or Macbeth, the Scottish Play, but all about tomorrow.  Tomorrow, Saturday the 20th of November, I will most likely become a father.

We are scheduled to go into the hospital at 5:30am, and get everything prepared for the doctor to come in and try and turn our baby, who is right now, wrong way around.  If that procedure is successful, which the doctor is hopeful about, then they will induce Tiffany and labor will begin.  Who knows how long that may last, but we can hope not too long, for all our sakes.  If they are not able to turn the baby, then they will have an operating room standing by where they will proceed with a c-section.

Obviously, that is not our desire.  We really want to avoid having a c-section, but if that is the only way, in the doctor’s expert opinion, to be certain of a successful birth, that is what will have to happen.  We are very confident and comfortable with our doctor.  On the wall in his office is a plaque listing every thousandth baby he has delivered.  The first thousandth baby was delivered before Tiffany was even born!  And as of last year he has delivered 7,000 babies.  This man knows what he is doing, he is very experienced, and it was really nice to sit and talk with him as he discussed with us the possibilities, when we found out that our baby is breech.  He told a few anecdotes of different situations where he has delivered babies, just proving that he has just about seen it all.  And today when we went in he mentioned that the last baby he tried turning was very successful, so “we’re on a roll!”

This is all just a bit surreal. I know, and have known for months, that I am going to be a father, but it hasn’t quite been real to me yet.  Tiffany feels it a lot more than I do, obviously, she can actually feel the child moving and growing inside of her.  She is very much connected to this baby.  For me, it’s still not quite real, and probably won’t be until I actually see him and can hold him.  My son.  It is a bit strange to say that and think about that, but on Saturday it’s going to be a reality.  And then life really starts being interesting!

We are both really looking forward to this huge blessing in our lives, which is coming in such a small package.  His room is all organized and cleaned.  We have just about everything you need to care for a baby.  And, no matter what happens, we should be back home by Thanksgiving, so I can cook a great big meal for my growing family.  Isn’t that wonderful?

I just hope and pray that I will be able to be the father that I want my son to have.  I have had a great example in fatherhood by watching my father and seeing everything he did for us.  He is a wonderful man, always treated my mother and us with respect and love, yet firmness at times when it was called for.  I remember when I tried out for the school play, Taming of the Shrew, and I told him about it.  He said that that was one of his least favorite, since it gets confusing with characters dressing up as each other and running around.  Yet, he still showed up and watched me in the play.  Even though I was only in the first two scenes.  And even though it required him to take off work, since he worked evenings.  That meant so much to me, that he would be willing to sacrifice so much just so watch me say my thirty or so lines.  I’m sure he fell asleep during the rest of the show, but I don’t mind.  He came and that was important.

I also remember my father watching a lot of sports, football and baseball with my older brothers.  They would watch the game, talk about the players, teams, etc.  But, then I noticed something interesting when my brothers moved out.  Dad stopped watching sports.  He was never really all that into it, but he watched the games because my brothers wanted to.  Partly, he just likes watching TV, but mostly he wanted to spend time with my brothers doing something together.  They spent a lot of time out under one car or another, and they spent a lot of time on the couch watching sports.  When my brothers weren’t at home anymore, he stopped watching sports, there was no need anymore.

For me, dad and I watched old movies.  As I got more and more interested in theatre and acting and cinematic techniques, I began to enjoy watching the old black-and-white classics with him, discussing the actors, the plots and characters.  We had something we could do together, we spent time together doing something we enjoyed.  I don’t know much about cars, or mechanics or any of that that dad does so well, like my brothers, but I did know history, films, and literary effects that are used in films.  We had that in common.

As I think about being a father, I hope that I can do half as good a job as my father did, and does.  He is still there for me when I need him, he still cares for me, and of course he cares about his first grandson.  Who knew his first grandchild would come from his third son?  I am glad that I have his example, and the example of so many good, righteous fathers who I have observed growing up.  I’m sure things will be just fine.  It’s supposed to be a learning experience, having your first child, isn’t it?  Anything less would be utterly disappointing.

“..creeps in this petty pace from day to day.”   Well, this post really has nothing to do with Shakespeare or Macbeth, the Scottish Play, but all about tomorrow.  Tomorrow, Saturday the 20th of November, I will most likely become a father.

We are scheduled to go into the hospital at 5:30am, and get everything prepared for the doctor to come in and try and turn our baby, who is right now, wrong way around.  If that procedure is successful, which the doctor is hopeful about, then they will induce Tiffany and labor will begin.  Who knows how long that may last, but we can hope not too long, for all our sakes.  If they are not able to turn the baby, then they will have an operating room standing by where they will proceed with a c-section.

Obviously, that is not our desire.  We really want to avoid having a c-section, but if that is the only way, in the doctor’s expert opinion, to be certain of a successful birth, that is what will have to happen.  We are very confident and comfortable with our doctor.  On the wall in his office is a plaque listing every thousandth baby he has delivered.  The first thousandth baby was delivered before Tiffany was even born!  And as of last year he has delivered 7,000 babies.  This man knows what he is doing, he is very experienced, and it was really nice to sit and talk with him as he discussed with us the possibilities, when we found out that our baby is breech.  He told a few anecdotes of different situations where he has delivered babies, just proving that he has just about seen it all.  And today when we went in he mentioned that the last baby he tried turning was very successful, so “we’re on a roll!”

This is all just a bit surreal. I know, and have known for months, that I am going to be a father, but it hasn’t quite been real to me yet.  Tiffany feels it a lot more than I do, obviously, she can actually feel the child moving and growing inside of her.  She is very much connected to this baby.  For me, it’s still not quite real, and probably won’t be until I actually see him and can hold him.  My son.  It is a bit strange to say that and think about that, but on Saturday it’s going to be a reality.  And then life really starts being interesting!

We are both really looking forward to this huge blessing in our lives, which is coming in such a small package.  His room is all organized and cleaned.  We have just about everything you need to care for a baby.  And, no matter what happens, we should be back home by Thanksgiving, so I can cook a great big meal for my growing family.  Isn’t that wonderful?

I just hope and pray that I will be able to be the father that I want my son to have.  I have had a great example in fatherhood by watching my father and seeing everything he did for us.  He is a wonderful man, always treated my mother and us with respect and love, yet firmness at times when it was called for.  I remember when I tried out for the school play, Taming of the Shrew, and I told him about it.  He said that that was one of his least favorite, since it gets confusing with characters dressing up as each other and running around.  Yet, he still showed up and watched me in the play.  Even though I was only in the first two scenes.  And even though it required him to take off work, since he worked evenings.  That meant so much to me, that he would be willing to sacrifice so much just so watch me say my thirty or so lines.  I’m sure he fell asleep during the rest of the show, but I don’t mind.  He came and that was important.

I also remember my father watching a lot of sports, football and baseball with my older brothers.  They would watch the game, talk about the players, teams, etc.  But, then I noticed something interesting when my brothers moved out.  Dad stopped watching sports.  He was never really all that into it, but he watched the games because my brothers wanted to.  Partly, he just likes watching TV, but mostly he wanted to spend time with my brothers doing something together.  They spent a lot of time out under one car or another, and they spent a lot of time on the couch watching sports.  When my brothers weren’t at home anymore, he stopped watching sports, there was no need anymore.

For me, dad and I watched old movies.  As I got more and more interested in theatre and acting and cinematic techniques, I began to enjoy watching the old black-and-white classics with him, discussing the actors, the plots and characters.  We had something we could do together, we spent time together doing something we enjoyed.  I don’t know much about cars, or mechanics or any of that that dad does so well, like my brothers, but I did know history, films, and literary effects that are used in films.  We had that in common.

As I think about being a father, I hope that I can do half as good a job as my father did, and does.  He is still there for me when I need him, he still cares for me, and of course he cares about his first grandson.  Who knew his first grandchild would come from his third son?  I am glad that I have his example, and the example of so many good, righteous fathers who I have observed growing up.  I’m sure things will be just fine.  It’s supposed to be a learning experience, having your first child, isn’t it?  Anything less would be utterly disappointing.

One thought on “Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

  1. E-rock

    Excellent news! Looks like you will be in good hands at the hospital, and have some pretty big shoes to fill. Lead on! (for the rest of us single or childless folk, anyway)

Leave a Reply

