Managing Expectations

Yesterday was the first of November, the start of NaNoWriMo!  I wrote my 1667 words and then some, fitting it in around my school and theatre schedule.  I am actually quite proud of myself, I just hope that I can keep this pace up, and find the time that I need to write, while at the same time getting my homework done and fulfilling my obligations as Techie with the local theatre group.  (If you’re in Provo, UT this weekend and next come check out New Play Project‘s first full-length musical production, The Bent Sword!)

With all of this, I am reluctant to admit that my blog posting may be sporadic at best over the next few weeks.  I will try to post 2-3 times a week, but they will probably be shorter posts, quick things that I write when taking a break from my NaNoWriMo novel, like this one!

I am really looking forward to the challenge of writing 50000 words in a month.  I have had several novel ideas over the years, but I have really lacked the motivation to write them to completion.  Part of it is also the fact that I am too much of an editor, trying to get things right the first time.  NaNoWriMo is not about writing a good novel, it’s about writing a complete novel.  This is just the first draft, which can be edited and polished at some later point.  I am adopting for myself the motto: “Write It Now, Fix All of It Later!”, or WIN FAIL.  That should help give me the impetus to just keep writing, no matter how terrible the writing is.  In my first three pages that I wrote yesterday I used the same phrase several times, but I just wrote it down, rather than spending the time to come up with a better way of phrasing it.  I did italicize it to indicate that it’s something I want to fix later.  That’s what I’m allowing myself as a way to placate my inner editor. I am recognizing that my writing is not perfect, but that now is not the time for perfection.

This should be fun, and you can track my progress with the little Word Count gadget I’ve added to the sidebar there on the right. Let’s see if November lends itself to a novel this year for me!

Leave a Reply

